Kristal Klaar Marimba


The third concert in the series of the 7th edition of “Kristal Klaar” is entirely dedicated to the marimba and will be conducted by Erik Taelemans. Once more, a selection of young, talented musicians of Kunsthumaniora Brussel are ready to share their passion with you, while professional musicians will perform during the second part of the evening. Together, they will introduce to you the complete sound spectrum of the marimba and its interactions in ensembles with other instruments.

Young Talent

Laurens Maris and Robin Geeroms, brothers in arms, will tell you a sparkling musical history. They will take you on a world tour through compositions like ‘Step After Step’ (Ragtime), ‘First Anniversary’ (Latin) et ‘Serengeti’ (Afro). They will share with you their mad desire to play the marimba, the xylophone and the vibraphone, accompanied by other musicians on percussion instruments.


Titus Franken, Kjell De Raes, Koenraad Botteldoorn and Mien Heyvaert, all former students, will make their sticks vibrate over the marimbas. They will demonstrate in a brilliant way all the play options of the marimba through the band compositions ‘2+1’ and ‘Afta Stuba’, including some stunning solo’s. ‘2+1’ is a marvelous composition, performed in reversed image, and ‘Afta Stuba’ an amazing challenge.

The youngsters will be sparkling !

KHB-Band

When marimba rhythms start to play
Dance with me, make me sway
Like a lazy ocean hugs the shore
Hold me close, sway me more
(Sway)

Six great musicians joined forces to deliver a unique and musical tale, full of rhythm: Erik Taelemans on marimba (which means literally ‘wooden voice’), Leen Indigne on flute, Jan Samyn on percussion, Jean-Philippe Komac on percussion, Philip Bruffaerts on guitar and Cyrille Obermüller on double bass. Their repertoire, written by Erik Taelemans, is not to be cataloged in one musical genre. The compositions will guarantee surprise, excitement and discovery, for both the public and the musicians ...

The concert will start in Spain with ‘Gitane de Moura’ and will immediately set the tone for the rest of the evening: a variety of integrity and lyrical moments, but rapidly evolving to an impetuous eruption. 'Primitive Chase' will make you discover the primal forces of the hunt, from the prelude to death. ‘Black Orpheus’ by Luis Bonfi is really unique, the sweet sounds of the marimba creating an amazing ambience, inspired by exotic destinations. This are compositions that make you dream and enjoy the lyricism and virtuosity of each musician. At the end of the concert, the band will bring you back to Brussels through ‘Metro’.



PRACTICAL INFORMATION

• DATE: Thursday April 30, 2015 at 20:00
• LOCATION: G.C. De Markten (Spiegelzaal) - Oude Graanmarkt 5 1000 Brussels
• TICKETS: 14.00 € / +65 & -26: 10,00 € / Students Kunsthumaniora Brussel and Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel: 7.00 €
• INFO AND RESERVATION: Brosella: 02 474 06 41 info@brosella.be (info) res@brosella.be (reservation)

Brosella Newsletter

Enter your email to subscribe:
 

Next events

13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
14.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Brussels
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi

Kristal Klaar Marimba


Le troisième concert de la septième édition de Kristal Klaar sera consacré au marimba, sous la conduite de Erik Taelemans. Une sélection de jeunes musiciens talentueux de la Kunsthumaniora Brussel se produira à nouveau pour votre plus grand plaisir en première partie, suivis de musiciens professionnels en seconde partie de la soirée. Ensemble, ils vous feront découvrir l'ensemble du spectre sonore du marimba et ses interactions dans des ensembles.

Jeunes talents

Les compagnons d'armes, Laurens Maris et Robin Geeroms, vous raconteront une histoire musicale pétillante. Ils vous amèneront faire le tour du monde à travers des compositions comme ‘Step After Step’ (Ragtime), First Anniversary’ (Latin) et ‘Serengeti’ (Afro). Ils partageront avec vous leur folle envie de jouer le marimba, le xylophone et le vibraphone, tout en se faisant accompagner d’autres musiciens sur des instruments de percussion.


Titus Franken, Kjell De Raes, Koenraad Botteldoorn et Mien Heyvaert, tous anciens étudiants, feront vibrer leurs baguettes au-dessus des marimbas. A travers les œuvres d’ensembles ‘2+1’ et ‘Afta Stuba’ (mais également truffées de solos) ils feront la démonstration de leur virtuosité et en même temps de toutes les possibilités de jeu du marimba. ‘2+1’ est une composition merveilleuse, jouée en image inversée, et ‘Afta Stuba’ un challenge immense.

Les jeunes feront des étincelles à cette soirée !

KHB-Band

When marimba rhythms start to play
Dance with me, make me sway
Like a lazy ocean hugs the shore
Hold me close, sway me more
(Sway)

Six musiciens fantastiques ont uni leurs forces pour vous présenter une histoire rythmique et musicale unique:
Erik Taelemans au marimba (qui signifie littéralement ‘voix de bois’), Leen Indigne aux flutes, Jan Samyn à la percussion, Jean-Philippe Komac à la percussion, Philip Bruffaerts à la guitare et Cyrille Obermüller à la contrebasse. Leur répertoire, écrit par Erik Taelemans, ne peut être catalogué sous un seul genre. Les compositions vous garantissent surprise, émotion et découverte, autant pour le public que pour les musiciens…

Le concert débutera en Espagne avec ‘Gitane de Moura’ et donnera tout de suite le ton du programme proposé: alternance entre des moments l'intègres et lyriques, mais qui évoluent rapidement à une éruption impétueuse. ‘Primitive Chase’ vous fera découvrir les forces primitives de la chasse, du prélude jusqu’à la mort. ‘Black Orpheus’ de Luis Bonfi est interprété de façon unique, grâce aux douces sonorités du marimba, qui créent une ambiance surprenante, inspirée par des destinations exotiques. Des compositions qui vous feront rêver et profiter du lyrisme et de la virtuosité de chaque musicien. En fin de programme, le groupe vous emmènera de nouveau à Bruxelles à travers la composition ‘Metro’.



INFORMATION PRATIQUE

• DATE: jeudi 30 avril 2015 à 20:00
• LOCATION: G.C. De Markten (Spiegelzaal) - Vieux Marché aux Grains 5 1000 Bruxelles
• TICKETS: 14.00 € / +65 & -26: 10,00 € / Etudiants Kunsthumaniora Brussel et Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel: 7.00 €
• INFO ET RESERVATION: Brosella: 02 474 06 41 info@brosella.be (info) res@brosella.be (réservation)

Newsletter

Entrez votre adresse mail:
 

Next events

13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
14.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Bruxelles
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi