Kristal Klaar Piano


For the first Kristal Klaar concert of 2018, David Thomaere will perform together with several students in the company of bassist Felix Zurstrassen and drummer Antoine Pierre. David forms, together with these two great musicians, a Trio that released in 2016 a first CD, entitled 'Crossing Lines'. They play a mixture of energetic jazz and melancholic pop music with some electronics influences.

In the first part, we will see perform new pianists in the making Tristan Tarras, Myrte Winkels and Milan Robberechts. They graduate from the Kunsthumaniora this year and have all been David’s students at some point in their early careers. They will also be assisted by Felix and Antoine. Sharing the stage with this professional rhythm section, will already be a unique experience to them. We will hear standards, but also more contemporary jazz, interlaced with all kinds of genres such as pop, fusion and world music.


David Thomaere

Pianist David Thomaere feels at home in almost all musical genres. Whether it is pop, jazz, hip hop or electronics, you will find him everywhere. He studied at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels with, among others, Diederik Wissels and Nathalie Loriers, graduated in 2012 and won the 'Toots Thielemans Jazz Award'. In addition, he followed several master classes with Kenny Werner, John Tayler and Richie Beirach, to name a few.
Nowadays he performs mainly with his own trio, where he plays most of the time jazz, but also flirts with sound scape and electronics. He also contributes in Delvita, another jazz project, but more rock oriented. At the same time, you can find him in the 'pop world', where he has played with all kinds of Belgian artists like Netsky, Tout Va Bien, Lady Linn, Stan Van Samang, Billie, ...


Felix Zurstrassen

Bassist Felix Zurstrassen is present all over the Brussels Jazz scene, both on electric and double bass. We know him, among others, from Antoine Pierre's band Urbex and from Fabrizio Cassol’s The Conference of the Birds. Since a few months he also performs with his own trio, completed by Antoine Pierre and Nelson Verras.

Antoine Pierre

The name Antoine Pierre may sound familiar to you. This young drummer started with guitarist Philippe Catherine, studied for a year at the New School in New York, shared the stage with numerous international jazz artists and is today member of TaxiWars. With Urbex, his own project, he released two years ago an album, followed by a tour in Flanders and Wallonia. This artist is still full of lively ideas and we’re sure you will hear even more about him in the near future.

PRACTICAL INFORMATION

• DATE: Thursday March 1, 2018 at 20:00
• LOCATION: G.C. De Markten (Spiegelzaal) - Oude Graanmarkt 5 1000 Brussels
• TICKETS: 14.00 € / +65 & -26: 10,00 € / Students Kunsthumaniora Brussel and Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel: 7.00 €
• INFO AND RESERVATION: Brosella: 02 474 06 41 info@brosella.be (info) res@brosella.be (reservation)

Brosella Newsletter

Enter your email to subscribe:
 

Next events

03.05.2018
Kristal Klaar Vocals
GC De Markten - 1000 Brussels
 
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi

Kristal Klaar Piano


Pour le premier concert de Kristal Klaar en 2018, David Thomaere se produira avec quelques étudiants en compagnie du bassiste Felix Zurstrassen et du batteur Antoine Pierre. David forme avec ses deux compères un Trio qui a réalisé en 2016 un premier album, intitulé "Crossing Lines". Ils jouent un mélange de jazz énergique et de musique pop mélancolique avec une touche d'électronique.

En première partie, nous verrons de nouveaux pianistes en devenir, Tristan Tarras, Myrte Winkels et Milan Robberechts montrer leur savoir-faire. Ils sont tous les trois en dernière année à la Kunsthumaniora et ont tous été étudiants chez David au cours de leur carrière précoce. Ils seront également épaulés par Felix et Antoine, ce qui sera pour eux une expérience unique de monter sur scène avec cette section rythmique professionnelle. Nous entendrons des standards, mais aussi du jazz plus contemporain, entrelacé avec toutes sortes de genres tels que la pop, la fusion et la world music.


David Thomaere

Le pianiste David Thomaere se sent chez lui dans presque tous les genres musicaux. Que ce soit de la pop, du jazz, du hip hop ou de l'électronique, on le croise partout. Il a étudié au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles avec, entre autres, Diederik Wissels et Nathalie Loriers. Diplômé en 2012, il a remporté le 'Toots Thielemans Jazz Award' la même année. En outre, il a suivi plusieurs master classes avec, entre autres, Kenny Werner, John Tayler et Richie Beirach.
On le retrouve aujourd'hui avec son propre trio, où il joue principalement du jazz mais expérimente aussi d’autres genres et sons, notamment l'électronique. Delvita est aussi l'un des projets de jazz où il s’est investi, avec une approche plus rock. En même temps nous le rencontrons dans le ‘monde pop‘ où il a joué avec toutes sortes d'artistes belges comme Netsky, Tout Va Bien, Lady Linn, Stan Van Samang, Billie, ...


Felix Zurstrassen

Le bassiste Felix Zurstrassen est fort connu dans la scène jazz bruxelloise, à la fois à la basse électrique et à la contrebasse. On le retrouve, entre autres, au sein du groupe Urbex d'Antoine Pierre et de la Conference of the Birds de Fabrizio Cassol. Depuis quelques mois il joue également avec son propre trio, complété par Antoine Pierre et Nelson Verras.

Antoine Pierre

Le nom Antoine Pierre peut vous sembler familier. Ce jeune batteur a commencé avec le guitariste Philippe Catherine, a étudié pendant un an à la New School de New York, a été aux côtés de nombreux artistes de jazz internationaux et se produit actuellement avec TaxiWars. Il y a deux ans, il a sorti un CD avec son propre projet Urbex, suivi d'une tournée en Flandre et en Wallonie. Cet artiste est encore plein d'idées animées dont vous entendrez sûrement parler.

INFORMATION PRATIQUE

• DATE: jeudi 1 mars 2018 à 20:00
• LOCATION: G.C. De Markten (Spiegelzaal) - Vieux Marché aux Grains 5 1000 Bruxelles
• TICKETS: 14.00 € / +65 & -26: 10,00 € / Etudiants Kunsthumaniora Brussel et Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel: 7.00 €
• INFO ET RESERVATION: Brosella: 02 474 06 41 info@brosella.be (info) res@brosella.be (réservation)

Newsletter

Entrez votre adresse mail:
 

Next events

01.03.2018
Kristal Klaar Piano
GC De Markten - 1000 Bruxelles
03.05.2018
Kristal Klaar Chant
GC De Markten - 1000 Bruxelles
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi