Christian Escoudé

© Jean-Baptiste Millot © Jean-Baptiste Millot © F.Vernhet © F.Vernhet
19/01/2013 - Namur - M.C. Province de Namur
23/01/2013 - Brussels - Théâtre Marni
24/01/2013 - Humbeek - C.C.Strombeek @ Eldorado

Christian Escoudé
(France)
Christian Escoudé (guitar), Fiona Mombet (violin), Jean-Baptiste Laya (electric guitar), Pierre Boussaguet (double bass).
Christian Escoudé is a French jazz guitar-player with gypsy origins. His father was also a guitarist and a great admirer of Django Reinhardt, an affection he passed on to his son. Christian started to study the guitar at the age of ten, but developed his own style. He shared the stage with many well-known artists such as Stan Getz, Bill Evans, Richard Galliano, Michel Portal, Didier Lockwood, Richard Galliano, Eddy Louiss, to name a few.

One could consider “Au bois de mon cœur” a very unexpected project, being created by an artist with a catalogue of almost fifty albums and partnerships with international stars like Stan Getz, Bill Evans or Richard Galliano for example. But on the other hand, George Brassens was a big jazz lover and a great fan of Django Reinhardt (he owned copies of all Django’s recording sessions) and didn’t he buy his guitars at the same instrument maker as many gypsies and manouches?

Brassens is not only a poet, but also an inventive and unique melody composer. One can easily be charmed by the precision and the purity of his compositions.

Brassens’ music sounds bright and clear, in the same way as his lyrics. But that doesn’t mean simplistic. It takes all the talent and the musical skills of Christian Escoudé to sublimate the beauty and the subtlety of Georges Brassens’ compositions and to transform his songs into inspired improvisations, and not into chiseled lyrics.

Escoudé invited the young Fiona Monbet and Swan Berger and the legend of gypsy jazz, Biréli Lagrène, to be part of this tribute to the melodies of Georges Brassens. The result is more than a tribute. It is a true jazz album, that pays respect to a recognized composer in the same way Ellington, Porter or Jobim would be honoured.

It is an inspired album that reaches for the taste of liberty and male sensibility, a need that probably most closely links Brassens from Sète with Escoudé, the gypsy.

www.christianescoude.com


http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=i-jm7llCI6A

Brosella Newsletter

Enter your email to subscribe:
 

Next events

09.11.2017
Kristal Klaar
"Con Forza Amore"
La Tentation - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi

Christian Escoudé

© Jean-Baptiste Millot © Jean-Baptiste Millot © F.Vernhet © F.Vernhet
19/01/2013 - Namur - M.C. Province de Namur
23/01/2013 - Bruxelles - Théâtre Marni
24/01/2013 - Humbeek - C.C.Strombeek @ Eldorado

Christian Escoudé
(France)
Christian Escoudé (guitar), Fiona Mombet (violin), Jean-Baptiste Laya (electric guitar), Pierre Boussaguet (double bass).
Christian Escoudé est un guitariste de jazz français avec du sang tsigane dans les veines. Son père qui jouait de la guitare avait une grande admiration pour Django Reinhardt, qu'il transmit à son fils. Escoudé a commencé à jouer de la guitare à l’âge de 10 ans et a développé son propre style. Il a travaillé avec de nombreuses sommités parmi lesquelles Stan Getz, Bill Evans, Richard Galliano, Michel Portal, Didier Lockwood, Richard Galliano, Eddy Louiss, ...

‘Au bois de mon cœur’ pourrait apparaître comme un projet inattendu de la part de Christian Escoudé : lui qui compte une cinquantaine d’albums à son actif et a collaboré avec nombre d’artistes de la trempe de Stan Getz, Bill Evans ou encore Richard Galliano. Mais si l’on se rappelle que George Brassens était un grand amateur de jazz (‘Georges Brassens et le Jazz’), un véritable fan de Django Reinhardt (il possédait l’intégrale de ses enregistrements) et qu’il achetait ses guitares chez le même luthier que nombre de gitans ou manouches, on peut penser que cet hommage à Django est légitime et pertinent.

Car Brassens est non seulement un poète mais aussi un mélodiste inventif et singulier. Il est aisé de se laisser charmer par la précision et la clarté d’une écriture qui fait sonner chacune de ses chansons comme une évidence.

A l’instar de ses textes, sa musique est limpide. Limpide mais pas simpliste. Il faut en somme tout le talent et le savoir-faire de Christian Escoudé pour sublimer la beauté, la subtilité des compositions de George Brassens et en faire l’écrin, non pas de textes ciselés mais d’improvisations inspirées.

A ce titre les jeunes Fiona Monbet, Swan Berger ou la légende du jazz manouche Biréli Lagrène, tous invités pour l’occasion, ont participé à mettre en valeur ces mélodies de Brassens. Il en résulte bien plus qu’un simple hommage mais un véritable disque de jazz, rendant justice à un compositeur à part entière, comme on le ferait pour Ellington, Porter ou Jobim.

Ainsi retrouve-t-on tout au long de l’album un goût de liberté indéfectible, une sensibilité virile et une exigence qui sont probablement les liens les plus évidents entre Brassens le sétois et Escoudé le gitan.

www.christianescoude.com


http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=i-jm7llCI6A

Newsletter

Entrez votre adresse mail:
 

Next events

13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
14.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Bruxelles
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi