Christine Tassan & Les Imposteures

© Michel Pinault © Michel Pinault © Michel Pinault © Michel Pinault
INFO & TICKETS:
21/01/2016 at 20:30 - Brussels - Les Riches-Claires

Christine Tassan & Les Imposteures
(Canada)
Christine Tassan: lead guitar, lead vocals, song writing, arrangements; Lise-Anne Ross: rhythm guitar, vocals, arrangements; Martine Gaumond: violin, vocals, arrangements; Blanche Baillargeon: double bass, vocals, songwriting, arrangements.
It has been ten years since Christine Tassan et les Imposteures tending their craft in the gypsy jazz milieu and performing standards, and there is no doubt that they are definitely here to stay. Pioneers in a domain usually reserved for men and precursors of the gypsy wave that swept across Québec, this all-woman quartet continues to reinvent this timeless music while integrating new ideas and influences with an originality and flair we have become familiar with. From standards to original compositions, the Imposteures’ musical arrangements innovate, rejuvenate and leave room for unbridled creativity from four talented and accomplished young women.

Since their inception in 2003 the group has solidified their reputation. With more than 400 concerts in various venues and festivals, including numerous appearances in major events Christine Tassan, Lise-Anne Ross et Blanche Baillargeonand tours across Canada and France, they have cultivated the adoration and loyalty of an ever growing fan base. We have had the chance to see them at the Montreal International Jazz Festival, at the Lévis Jazz Festival, at the Guitar Festival in Rouyn-Noranda, at the April in Paris Vancouver festival and in St-Pierre-et-Miquelon. On two occasions, their show has been taped and broadcasted by CBC Radio as part of the Concerts on demand, in Montreal and Saskatoon. Over the years, the band has shared the stage with illustrious gypsy swing musicians, including John Jorgenson, Tchavolo Schmit, Angelo Debarre, Rodolphe Raffalli and David Reindhart.
In June 2014, they had the great pleasure to be invited at the Django Reinhardt Festival of Samois-sur-Seine (France), one of the most prestigious gypsy jazz festivals since it takes place in the town where the great manouche guitarist lived his last years. In front of more than 2000 enthusiastic people, they stood out with their “finesse” and “joie de vivre” as the very first women and furthermore Québécois gypsy jazz band to perform on this famous stage !

Their first two albums, De bon matin (2007) and Pas manouche, c’est louche (2010), achieved rapid critical acclaim. Only a few weeks after it was released, De bon matin went to the top of Radio-Canada’s Coup de Coeur hit list and reached number one on the Radio Couleur Jazz top 4. In turn, Pas manouche, c’est louche was nominated for Best Jazz Album Creation at the ADISQ awards, alongside other great artists such as Jordan Officer, Julie Lamontagne and Christine Jensen.
Their third album, released in October 2012, follows in the lively spirit of the concerts. Like its two predecessors, it weaves together a clever mix of original compositions and standards, songs and instrumental pieces. The album brims with a ripe confidence that clearly reveals the evolution of the group. C’est l’heure de l’apéro marks the beginning of a new chapter for Christine Tassan et les Imposteures, who are once again touring Québec, Canada and the world to showcase their new sparkling and savory show.

Brosella Newsletter

Enter your email to subscribe:
 

Next events

09.11.2017
Kristal Klaar
"Con Forza Amore"
La Tentation - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi

Christine Tassan & Les Imposteures

© Michel Pinault © Michel Pinault © Michel Pinault © Michel Pinault
INFO & TICKETS:
21/01/2016 à 20:30 - Bruxelles - Les Riches-Claires

Christine Tassan & Les Imposteures
(Canada)
Christine Tassan: lead guitar, lead vocals, song writing, arrangements; Lise-Anne Ross: rhythm guitar, vocals, arrangements; Martine Gaumond: violin, vocals, arrangements; Blanche Baillargeon: double bass, vocals, songwriting, arrangements.
Depuis déjà dix années qu’elles roulent leur bosse dans le milieu du jazz manouche et de la chanson revisitée, Christine Tassan et les Imposteures sont définitivement dans le paysage musical pour y rester. Véritables pionnières dans un domaine d’ordinaire réservé aux hommes et précurseures de la vague manouche qui a déferlé sur le Québec, ces quatre musiciennes réinventent avec la singularité qu’on leur connaît une musique qui, loin d’être figée dans le temps, s’adapte au contraire à toutes sortes d’idées nouvelles. Des reprises aux compositions, les arrangements des Imposteures innovent, dépoussièrent, laissent place à la créativité débridée de quatre musiciennes chevronnées.

La réputation du groupe n’est plus à faire; avec plus de 400 spectacles en salle et en festival, dont de multiples représentations dans des évènements d’envergure et plusieurs tournées pan-canadiennes et françaises, depuis sa fondation en 2003. On a ainsi vu Christine Tassan et les Imposteures au Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, au Festival de Jazz de Lévis, au Festival des guitares de Rouyn-Noranda, au festival April in Paris de Vancouver et aux Déferlantes Atlantiques de St-Pierre-et-Miquelon; par deux fois, leur spectacle a été enregistré et radio-diffusé par CBC dans le cadre des «Concerts on demand», à Montréal et Saskatoon. Au fil du temps, elles ont partagé les scènes avec les grands du jazz manouche, dont John Jorgenson, Tchavolo Schmit, Angelo Debarre, Rodolphe Raffalli et David Reindhart.
En juin 2014, elles eurent l’immense bonheur de jouer au Festival Django Reinhardt de Samois-sur-Seine (France), sans doute le plus prestigieux des festivals de jazz manouche puisqu’ayant lieu dans la ville même où le grand guitariste manouche a vécu. Devant plus de 2000 personnes enthousiastes, elles s’imposèrent toute en finesse et en joie de vivre comme le tout premier groupe de jazz manouche féminin et de surcroit québécois à fouler les planches du fameux festival!

Leurs deux premiers disques, «De bon matin» (2007) et «Pas manouche, c’est louche» (2010), ont connu un vif succès critique. Dès les premières semaines de sa sortie, «De bon matin» s’est classé au palmarès Coup de coeur de Radio-Canada et a décoché la première place du top4 de Radio Couleur Jazz. «Pas manouche, c’est louche», quant à lui, s’est mérité l’honneur d’une nomination à l’ADISQ dans la catégorie «meilleur album jazz création», auprès d’artistes reconnus tels que Jordan Officer, Julie Lamontagne et Christine Jensen.
Leur troisième album, sorti en octobre 2012, s’inscrit justement dans l'esprit vivifiant des concerts. Comme les deux précédents, il est tricoté d’un savant mélange de compostions et de reprises, de chansons et de pièces instrumentales; l’évolution du groupe aidant, il s’annonce comme un album mûr et assumé. «C’est l’heure de l’apéro» marque le début d’une nouvelle ronde pour Christine Tassan et les Imposteures, qui parcourront de nouveau le Québec, le Canada et le monde pour présenter le spectacle pétillant et délicieux issu de leur dernière production.

Newsletter

Entrez votre adresse mail:
 

Next events

09.11.2017
Kristal Klaar
La Tentation - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi