DjanGo! meets Duke

© DjanGo! Djangofolllies 2014 © Jean-Luc Goffinet Koen De Cauter © Hedwige Pint
INFO & TICKETS:
18/01/2016 at 20:15 - Brussels - Flagey Studio 4
31/01/2016 at 20:30 - Antwerp - De Roma

DjanGo! meets Duke
(Belgium/USA)
Koen De Cauter: soprano saxophone, guitar and vocals
Fapy Lafertin: guitar
Joachim Badenhorst: saxophone, clarinet and bass clarinet
Jon Birdsong: cornet
Myrddin De Cauter: clarinet and bass clarinet
Rony Verbiest: saxophone
Peter Delannoye: trombone
Christian Mendoza: piano
Waso De Cauter: guitar
Dajo De Cauter: double bass
Lionel Beuvens: drums
The 22nd edition of Djangofolllies will witness the première of an initiative of Paul Schyvens, driving force of De Roma: the group of musicians, gathered around Koen De Cauter and Fapy Lafertin, will throw itself into a new adventure, 12 years after the start of the original DjanGo! Project, commemorating the legacy of the great Django Reinhardt. After the very successful Django-On concerts during the 2014 Djangofolllies, it looked tempting to blend Django’s flavor with Duke Ellington’s, an idea that seduced DjanGo.

Try to imagine, that the famous tour, made in 1946 by Django Reinhardt and Duke Ellington (in fact rather a jam session) through the United States, would result in an intense collaboration between these two Masters . Actually, this is the key idea about this project . Not just a sum of the genius of both artists, but a consideration about what could have happened, if …

To be able to reach this goal, the band has been extended with for four exceptional musicians. This way, DjanGo persists in being an amazing tribute, performed by a top cast, able to reinvent the genre. The musical instinct of the musicians generates genuine musical emotions and takes the audience on a journey through their interpretation of the colors of Django Reinhardt and Duke Ellington. The audience will be sublimated by a virtuoso performance, but these musicians will always keep the emotional and human character of the music in mind.

Brosella Newsletter

Enter your email to subscribe:
 

Next events

09.11.2017
Kristal Klaar
"Con Forza Amore"
La Tentation - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi

DjanGo! meets Duke

© DjanGo! Djangofolllies 2014 © Jean-Luc Goffinet Koen De Cauter © Hedwige Pint
INFO & TICKETS:
18/01/2016 à 20:15 - Bruxelles - Flagey Studio 4
31/01/2016 à 20:30 - Anvers - De Roma

DjanGo! meets Duke
(Belgique/Etats-Unis)
Koen De Cauter: soprano saxophone, guitar and vocals
Fapy Lafertin: guitar
Joachim Badenhorst: saxophone, clarinet and bass clarinet
Jon Birdsong: cornet
Myrddin De Cauter: clarinet and bass clarinet
Rony Verbiest: saxophone
Peter Delannoye: trombone
Christian Mendoza: piano
Waso De Cauter: guitar
Dajo De Cauter: double bass
Lionel Beuvens: drums
Ce projet, mis sur pied sous l’impulsion de Paul Schyvens du C.C. De Roma à Borgerhout (Anvers), sera présenté en avant-première à l’occasion de la 22e édition des Djangofolllies : 12 ans après leur premier projet intitulé ‘DjanGo’, le groupe formé par de Koen De Cauter et Fapy Lafertin se lance dans une nouvelle aventure autour de l'héritage du maître Django Reinhardt. Suite au succès remporté par leur projet ‘Django-On’ présenté lors de la précédente édition des Djangofolllies 2014, l’idée d’allier la musique de Django à celle de Duke Ellington semblait intéressante : une piste de réflexion que Django aurait certainement partagée.

Imaginez un seul instant que la célèbre tournée de Django Reinhardt et Duke Ellington (qui n’était rien de plus qu’une jam session) qui s’est tenue en 1946 à travers les États-Unis ait résulté en une intense collaboration entre ces deux grands maîtres ... C’est à partir de cette idée que le projet commence. Ce projet ne se limite pas à mélanger les deux genres musicaux mais essaye d’imaginer ce que cela aurait pu donner.

Pour ce faire, le groupe se voit renforcé par quatre autres musiciens. Une manière pour ‘DjanGo’ de continuer à rendre un hommage particulier grâce à un casting exceptionnel et haut de gamme tout en continuant à apporter un vent nouveau au genre. L'instinct musical des musiciens laisser triompher l'émotion de la musique et emmène le public dans un voyage à travers leur interprétation des couleurs de Django Reinhardt et de Duke Ellington. Virtuose sans jamais perdre de vue le caractère émotionnel et humain de la musique.

Newsletter

Entrez votre adresse mail:
 

Next events

09.11.2017
Kristal Klaar
La Tentation - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi