Dorado Schmitt

© Paul Mischkowitz
25/01/2013 - Charleroi - Liberchies @ Eden
26/01/2013 - Gouvy - Ferme de la Madelonne
27/01/2013 - Brussels - Warwick Barsey Hotel

Dorado Schmitt
(France)
Dorado Schmitt (guitar, violin, vocals), Xavier Nikq (double bass), Mayo Hubert or Franco Merhstein or Hono Winterstein (rhythm guitar)
Just say the name of Dorado Schmitt, to make gypsy jazz lovers kill themselves! This manouche guitar legend was revealed to a general audience thanks to the "Latcho Drom" movie, telling the real story of the Rom people moving from India to the Atlantic and Mediterranean coasts. He created the original soundtrack.

Composer and jazz performer, Dorado Schmitt was born in St. Avold, in Lorraine/France, the 29th May 1957. Since his childhood, thanks to his family's devotion to music, he has been plunged in gypsy jazz. His father trained him on the guitar from the age of 7 and showed him the music of the master, the great Django Reinhardt. Under this influence, he improved his style by playing all the musics of the master, even the most technical solos, in order to perform perfectly in the Django style. Moreover his father initiated him into the violin and Dorado plays it with the same feeling.

In 1978, he formed the Dorado Trio with Gino Reinhardt on double bass and Hono Winterstein on rhythm guitar. Later the guitarist Claudio Favari joined the band, but only on a few occasions. But Dorado doesn’t want only to copy Django’s style, he has begun to compose his own music, harmonious melodies with smart improvisations, and an exceptional technique. He feels as comfortable in swing and gypsy waltz, as in the bossa nova and flamenco style.

He has performed at the most important jazz festivals in the USA, Europe and Japan (Chicago, San Francisco, New York, Washington, Tokyo, Hiroshima, Osaka, Sapporo, Nagoya, …).

Because of his kindness, he’s the pride of all the gypsies. Dorado doesn’t care about fashion trends or the pressure of music business, he’s just being himself. We invite you to discover this modest star of the gypsy guitar. We have a unique opportunity to invite him toat Djangofollies 2013.

http://dorado.schmitt.free.fr


http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=UFofF3Ogow0

Brosella Newsletter

Enter your email to subscribe:
 

Next events

13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
14.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Brussels
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi

Dorado Schmitt

© Paul Mischkowitz
25/01/2013 - Charleroi - Liberchies @ Eden
26/01/2013 - Gouvy - Ferme de la Madelonne
27/01/2013 - Bruxelles - Warwick Barsey Hotel

Dorado Schmitt
(France)
Dorado Schmitt (guitar, violin, vocals), Xavier Nikq (double bass), Mayo Hubert or Franco Merhstein or Hono Winterstein (rhythm guitar)
Si pour beaucoup le nom de Dorado Schmitt ne dit pas grand-chose, il fait en revanche rêver les aficionados du jazz manouche. Cette légende de la guitare gypsy s’est fait connaître par le grand public grâce à sa participation au film ‘Latcho Drom’ (Bonne Route) dont il a écrit la bande originale. Ce film raconte la véritable histoire des Roms voyageant de l'Inde vers les côtes atlantiques et méditerranéennes.

Le compositeur et artiste de jazz gitan Dorado Schmitt est né à Saint-Avold, en Lorraine, (France) le 29 mai 1957. Bercé par le jazz manouche au sein de sa famille depuis son plus jeune âge, son père l’initie à la guitare dès l’âge de 7 ans ainsi qu’à la musique du grand Maître, Django Reinhardt. Fort de cette influence, Dorado travaille son style en jouant tout le répertoire du Maître, même les solos les plus techniques, afin de maîtriser totalement le style Django. Son père lui apprend également la pratique du violon dont Dorado joue avec la même inspiration.

En 1978, il forme le Dorado Trio composé de Gino Reinhardt à la contrebasse et de Hono Winterstein à la guitare rythmique. Ils seront rejoints pour un temps par le guitariste Claudio Favari. Dorado ne veut pas seulement copier le style de Django, et décide de composer sa propre musique, des mélodies harmonieuses aux improvisations intelligentes et à la technique exceptionnelle. Il se sent à l’aise, aussi bien dans le swing et la valse manouche que dans le style Bossa Nova et Flamenco. Déluge de soli, de rythmiques explosives et de joie non dissimulée; voilà comment on peut qualifier un des meilleurs représentants de Django.

Il a joué dans les plus grands festivals de jazz aux États-Unis, en Europe et au Japon (Chicago, San Francisco, New York, Washington, Tokyo, Hiroshima, Osaka, Sapporo, Nagoya, …).

A contre-courant des modes et des pressions du show business, sa gentillesse et sa voix naturelle vibrante d’émotion a fait de lui la fierté des manouches. Nous vous invitons à découvrir cette star modeste de la guitare manouche. Une chance exceptionnelle d'avoir pu l'inviter au Djangofolllies.

http://dorado.schmitt.free.fr


http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=UFofF3Ogow0

Newsletter

Entrez votre adresse mail:
 

Next events

09.11.2017
Kristal Klaar
La Tentation - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi