Fapy Lafertin & Guests

© Hedwige Pint
INFO & TICKETS:
14/01/2017 at 20:00 - Ghent - De Centrale
19/01/2017 at 12:15 - Kunsthumaniora Brussel
26 rue des Chrysanthèmes 1020 Brussels (free)
22/01/2017 at 15:00 - Antwerp - Rataplan

Fapy Lafertin & Guests
(BE)

FAPY LAFERTIN’S SLOVAKIAN ROMA AND SINTI PROJECT
Fapy Lafertin (guitar) - GUESTS: Martin Balogh (accordion, piano), Stefan Godla (double bass, vocals), Robert Mihalik (guitar, vocals), Jozef Holub (guitar, vocals) + Tcha Limberger (violin) in Brussels and Antwerp.
For this edition of Djangofolllies, Brosella and De Centrale (Ghent) expressed the wish to bring together on one stage Slovak Roma and renowned Sinti musicians. Within the Roma community, represented by some 15 million people in Europe, the diversity is very wide (languages, traditions ...). The communist regimes in Eastern Europe, which made contact and cultural exchanges between different communities impossible, only strengthened this diversity. During this project, some Slovak Roma musicians from Ghent are discovering for the first time the swing music of Django Reinhardt. Under the artistic direction of Fapy Lafertin and Martin Balogh, they perform Django’s music in various musical styles, such as Balkans music, the Spanish rumba and the Hungarian czardas.

Fapy Lafertin is undoubtedly one of the most important and purest representatives of the Django style. Growing up in a community of musicians, this virtuoso very quickly became a devout follower of the music of Django Reinhardt. He played in various musical combos (WASO, QHCF ...) before embarking on a solo career and performing on different stages throughout Europe and the United States. He co-starred with renowned American jazz musicians such as Charlie Byrd, Scott Hamilton, Al Casey, Milt Hinton and Benny Waters. Lafertin has an amazing guitar technique while always keeping the melody in mind. He has not turned out to be a prisoner of the past by following Django's style. On the contrary, he makes Django’s music sound more modern than ever before.

Fapy will be accompanied in Brussels and Antwerp by the internationally renowned violinist Tcha Limberger. He is the son of guitarist Vivi Limberger (Waso Quartet) and the grandson of violinist Piotto Limberger, both iconic names in gypsy jazz music history. Listening to his music, one can sense the depth of his love for the music he binds with grace and quality. Tcha tackles several styles and genres of music with ease and plays in an amazing number of groups in very different styles.

Brosella Newsletter

Enter your email to subscribe:
 

Next events

09.11.2017
Kristal Klaar
"Con Forza Amore"
La Tentation - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi

Fapy Lafertin & Guests

© Hedwige Pint
INFO & TICKETS:
14/01/2017 à 20:00 - Gand - De Centrale
19/01/2017 à 12:15 Bruxelles - Kunsthumaniora
26 rue des Chrysanthèmes 1020 Bruxelles (entrée libre)
22/01/2017 à 15:00 - Anvers - Rataplan

Fapy Lafertin & Guests
(BE)

UN PROJET ENTRE ROMS SLOVAQUES ET SINTI
Fapy Lafertin (guitar) - GUESTS: Martin Balogh (accordion, piano), Stefan Godla (double bass, vocals), Robert Mihalik (guitar, vocals), Jozef Holub (guitar, vocals) + Tcha Limberger (violin) in Brussels and Antwerp.
Pour cette édition des Djangofolllies, Brosella et De Centrale (Gand) ont émis le souhait de réunir sur une même scène des Roms slovaques et des Sinti de renom. Au sein de la communauté rom, qui compte près de 15 millions de personnes en Europe, la diversité est très grande (langues, traditions,…). Le régime communiste en Europe de l'Est, qui a rendu le contact et l'échange culturel entre les différentes communautés impossible, n’a fait que renforcer cette diversité. Lors de ce projet, des musiciens Roms slovaques de Gand découvrent la musique swing de Django Reinhardt pour la première fois. Sous la direction artistique de Fapy Lafertin et Martin Balogh, ils interprètent la musique de Django dans différents styles de musique tels que celle des Balkans, la rumba espagnole ou encore la czardas hongroise.

Fapy Lafertin est l’un des plus importants et des plus purs représentants de la musique de Django Reinhardt. Ce virtuose a grandi dans une communauté tzigane très musicale. Il est devenu très vite un fervent disciple de la musique de Django. Il a joué dans diverses formations (Waso Quartet, Quintette du Hot Club De France, …) avant de se lancer en solo et de se produire sur différentes scènes à travers l’Europe et les États-Unis. Il a joué avec de grands artistes de jazz américains parmi lesquels Charlie Byrd, Scott Hamilton, Al Casey, Milt Hinton et Benny Waters. Sa technique ardente et son grand sens de la mélodie rendent sa musique fascinante. En décidant de suivre le style de Django, ce musicien d’exception ne s’est pas enfermé dans le passé, mais a apporté une sensibilité contemporaine à la musique de Django.

Fapy viendra à Bruxelles et à Anvers accompagné du violoniste de renommée internationale, Tcha Limberger. Tcha est le fils du guitariste Vivi Limberger (Waso Quartet) et le petit-fils du violoniste Piotto Limberger, deux grandes figures de l'histoire du jazz manouche. Il suffit de l’écouter jouer pour comprendre toute la profondeur de son amour pour la musique, qu’il lie avec grâce et qualité. Bien que son cœur penche pour la musique tzigane d’Europe de l’Est et le jazz, Tcha nage aisément dans plusieurs styles et joue dans un grand nombre d’autres groupes.

Newsletter

Entrez votre adresse mail:
 

Next events

09.11.2017
Kristal Klaar
La Tentation - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi