Roby Lakatos & Biréli Lagrène

Roby Lakatos © Istvan Lajtos Biréli Lagrène ©
INFO & TICKETS:
19/01/2016 at 20:00 - Brussels - Théâtre Marni SOLD OUT
27/01/2016 at 20:30 - Humbeek - CC Strombeek SOLD OUT
30/01/2016 at 20:30 - Namur - Maison de la Culture Tickets: 081/77 67 73

Roby Lakatos & Biréli Lagrène
(Hungary/France/Netherlands)

a tribute to Django Reinhardt and Stéphane Grappelli
Roby Lakatos: violin; Biréli Lagrène: guitar; Vilmos Csikos: double bass; Renaud Crols: piano; Niek De Bruijn: drums.
Roby Lakatos and Biréli Lagrène had the opportunity to play several times together over the last twenty years. They will bring their unique forces together again in chemistry for an exceptional gypsy Jazz Tribute to the genius of Django Reinhardt and Stéphane Grappelli. The Belgian premiere of this brand new common project will be presented at the Djangofolllies 2016. For the first time ever, a CD/Blu-ray edition of both Roby Lakatos and Bireli Lagrène, revisiting classic jazz standards like Belleville, Nuages, Djangology, Troublant Boléro, etc., will be released in April 2016. Be sure not to miss this exciting and festive program with two living legends on stage!

Roby Lakatos (1965) was born into the legendary family of gypsy violinists descended from Janos Bihari, “King of Gypsy Violinists”. At age nine he made his public debut as first violin in a gypsy band. His musicianship evolved not only within his own family but also at the Béla Bartók Conservatory of Budapest, where he won the first prize for classical violin in 1984. He has collaborated with Vadim Repin and Stéphane Grappelli, and his playing was greatly admired by Sir Yehudi Menuhin. Roby Lakatos is not only a scorching virtuoso, but a musician of extraordinary stylistic versatility. Equally comfortable performing classical music as he is playing jazz and his own Hungarian folk idiom, Lakatos is the rare musician who defies definition. He is referred to as a gypsy violinist or ‘devil’s fiddler’, a classical virtuoso, a jazz improviser, a composer and arranger, and a 19th-century throwback.

Biréli Lagrène (1966) was born in a traditional Manouche-Romani family and community and started playing the guitar at the age of four. When, at the age of eight, he covered Django Reinhardt’s repertoire, his relatives were already calling him a child prodigy. After having mastered the late great Django Reinhardt's Gypsy swing repertoire, the guitarist tried his hand at fusion jazz and rock. This exceptional and precocious talent took the jazz world by storm with his dazzling speed and phenomenal bursts of improvisation. Lagrène met some of the most distinguished jazz musicians on the international scene, such as Stéphane Grappelli, Benny Goodman, Benny Carter, Larry Coryell, Jaco Pastorius and Al Di Meola. Guitarists like Wes Montgomery, George Benson and Jimi Hendrix were his models. At once dynamic and lyrical, this sparkling musician is without a doubt one of the most prominent musicians of his generation.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8oefFSn7cmo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h-_78kxxbhs

Brosella Newsletter

Enter your email to subscribe:
 

Next events

09.11.2017
Kristal Klaar
"Con Forza Amore"
La Tentation - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi

Roby Lakatos & Biréli Lagrène

Roby Lakatos © Istvan Lajtos Biréli Lagrène ©
INFO & TICKETS:
19/01/2016 à 20:00 - Bruxelles - Théâtre Marni SOLD OUT
27/01/2016 à 20:30 - Humbeek - CC Strombeek SOLD OUT
30/01/2016 à 20:30 - Namur - Maison de la Culture Tickets: 081/77 67 73

Roby Lakatos & Biréli Lagrène
(Hongrie/France/Pays-Bas)

a tribute to Django Reinhardt and Stéphane Grappelli
Roby Lakatos: violin; Biréli Lagrène: guitar; Vilmos Csikos: double bass; Renaud Crols: piano; Niek De Bruijn: drums.
A chacune de leur rencontre sur scène au cours de ses vingt dernières années, Roby Lakatos et Biréli Lagrène ont su conjuguer leur créativité unique de façon alchimique. Ils ont décidé cette fois de rendre un hommage tout particulier aux génies du jazz manouche, Django Reinhardt et Stéphane Grappelli. Ce nouveau projet commun sera présenté pour la toute première fois en Belgique à l’occasion des Djangofolllies 2016 : une rencontre unique entre deux légendes vivantes qui revisiteront les standards de jazz classiques comme Belleville, Nuages, Djangology, Troublant Boléro, ... Roby Lakatos et Bireli Lagrène se verront également réunis pour la première fois sur CD & Blu Ray (sortie prévue en avril 2016). Un concert passionnant et festif à ne rater sous aucun prétexte!

Roby Lakatos (1965) est issu de la légendaire lignée de violonistes tziganes remontant à Janos Bihari, ‘Roi des violonistes gitans’. Roby Lakatos débute la musique dès l’âge de 9 ans comme premier violon dans un orchestre de musique gitane. Il développe sa pratique instrumentale au sein de sa famille puis au Conservatoire Béla Bartok de Budapest où il remporte le premier prix de violon classique en 1984. Il a collaboré avec Vadim Repin et Stéphane Grappelli et son jeu a été particulièrement admiré par Yehudi Menuhin. Roby Lakatos n’est pas seulement un virtuose incomparable mais également un musicien doté d’une versatilité stylistique extraordinaire. Aussi à l’aise dans les répertoires classique, jazz ou hongrois, Lakatos est l’un des rares musiciens à dépasser les frontières de son art. On parle de lui comme un violoniste tzigane, un ‘démon du violon’, un virtuose classique, un improvisateur de jazz, un compositeur et arrangeur, un ‘retour du 19e siècle’.

Biréli Lagrène (1966) est issu d’une famille et d’une communauté de tradition gitane. Il commence l’apprentissage de la guitare dès l'âge de quatre ans. Lorsque, à l’âge de huit ans, il s’attaque au répertoire de Django Reinhardt, ses proches le considèrent déjà comme un enfant prodige. Après avoir fait sien le répertoire du grand Django Reinhardt, le musicien crée une musique électrique qui s'éloigne du swing manouche de ses débuts. Talent aussi exceptionnel que précoce, le guitariste Biréli Lagrène est venu bouleverser le monde du jazz par son effarante rapidité et ses élans d'improvisation phénoménaux. Artiste en demande, il a collaboré avec quelques pointures de la scène jazz internationale comme Stéphane Grappelli, Benny Goodman, Benny Carter, Larry Coryell, Jaco Pastorius et Al Di Meola. Wes Montgomery, George Benson et Jimi Hendrix ont été ses modèles. À la fois puissant et lyrique, Lagrène est, sans contredit, l'un des plus importants musiciens de sa génération.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8oefFSn7cmo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h-_78kxxbhs

Newsletter

Entrez votre adresse mail:
 

Next events

09.11.2017
Kristal Klaar
La Tentation - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi