Lollo Meier & Rares Morarescu Quintet

Lollo Meier © Marco Alessandro Bocchino Lollo Meier at Djangofolllies © Serge Braem © Rares Morarescu © Carlo Butera
INFO & TICKETS:
19/01/2018 at 12:30 - Brussels - Flagey
22/01/2018 at 20:15 - Ruiselede - Banana Peel
26/01/2018 at 20:00 - Liberchies - Church
27/01/2018 at 20:00 - Meise - GC de Muze van Meise

Lollo Meier & Rares Morarescu Quintet
(NL/RO/IT)
Lollo Meyer (guitar), Rares Morarescu (violin), Carlo Butera (rhythm guitar), Henry Schuler (double bass) & Bart Keltjens (drums)
Lollo Meier Lollo Meier, the legendary Gypsy guitarist met Rares Morarescu, a violinist of Romanian origin, during a tour in the South of Italy. Thanks to their traditional and unique style, they give life to a surprising and joyful Gypsy jazz, defying a wide repertoire through the most popular Gypsy melodies and the finest compositions of the "impressionistic" period of Django Reinhardt (Porto Cabello, Noir et Blanc, Nymphéas, ...).
Lollo Meier and Rares Morarescu explore Gypsy jazz with a taste for swing phrasing and virtuosic improvisation. Their music is a journey through the "Belle Epoque", when Stéphane Grappelli and Django Reinhardt, accompanied by the Hot Club of France, awed crowds around the world. The lyricism and the swing of Lollo Meier & Rares Morarescu are fabulous. This will no doubt be an absolutely memorable concert for fans of Django’s music.

Raised on Gypsy swing from an early age, Lollo Meier is a guitar master, composer, bandleader and arranger, Lollo comes from an elite family of Gypsy players and is cousin to the great Fapy Lafertin and Stochelo Rosenberg. His goal: to carry on the music of Django, with a style and technique that’s traditional, melodious, lyrical, sensitive and joyful. His mellifluous compositions have a refreshing authentic Django flavor and are played with extraordinary talent, unique style and amazing suppleness that clearly reflects that he makes music he loves. His Quartet is sought after around the globe for private functions and renowned jazz festivals, famous for playing lesser known Django tunes and his own compositions. A man of style, grace and humor, Lollo’s pure melodious playing touches his audiences and makes Django’s music as fresh today as it was 80 years ago. As well as performing, he spends much of his time teaching sought-after master-classes, sharing his artistry and passing down Django’s legacy. A remarkable man, with a remarkable style of playing. Out of 15,000 world entries in the 2005 International Song Writing competition, Nashville USA, Lollo Meier became a finalist with Melody for Le QuecumBar, with honouree status and became part of the top 1.4% of entrants.

Violinist of Romanian origin, Bucharest, Rares Morarescu is one of the most extraordinary and surprising contemporary jazz violinists. A child prodigy, he began playing the violin at the age of 5 and, at the age of 14 years, he played on many international stages. In parallel, he performed with the Orchestra of the "Romanian Television Radio" as a violinist and participated in several productions of the orchestra of the Bucharest Opera and the big band "Rapsodia". In 1993 he moved to Italy where he worked with the most prestigious musical institutions and sets. With its sincere attachment and dedication to the Gypsy Tradition and the Swing of the Belle Epoque, he is considered a faithful disciple of the Grand Master Stéphane Grappelli.

Since the age of 12 years Carlo Butera devoted himself to studying the guitar and later began studying Harmony and the jazz language. It approached in 2000 about the Jazz Manouche learned during several trips to France (Samois sur Seine) and learning from the masters of the genre, later forms the ensemble "Hot String Quartet", the quartet performs in and around Sicily SOME local Jazz Festival. For a long time worked and played in Sicily and France with violinist Rares Morarescu together with whom he founded the Mediterranean gathering Manouche (www.radunomediterraneo.it). Since 2011 ado today the "manouche" rally hosts the most influential names in the World Gypsy Jazz scene (Lollo Meyer, Rares Morarescu, Stochelo Rosenberg, Paulus Shafer, Angelo Debarre and son). Over the years (and all 'now) always takes more often travel to Paris, Samois sur Seine, Bordeaux, Netherlands That will help him to understand more deeply the philosophy and Technical Aspects of Jazz Manouche style, he performs with local musicians Jazz Club and local entities taking part in numerous "Boeuf" concomitantly to more esponeti Jazz Manouche World. Played and has collaborated with many prominent musicians of the Sicilian landscape, the national and international.

Henry Schuler studied double bass at the Conservatory of Maastricht with Jacques Schols. He began playing the trumpet at the age of seven. He later switched to piano and guitar. At the age of 16, he changed his mind and started playing the bass guitar and finally the double bass. Henry likes a lot of different music styles. He played swing with Al Defino, bebop jazz with John Engels, blues with Lynwood Slim and even Mexican music with Carolina de Holanda.

Bart Keltjens has been fascinated by jazz music since his childhood which has led him to Lollo Meier. Something very different then Bart was accustomed to but just the gene for which he was looking.

Brosella Newsletter

Enter your email to subscribe:
 

Next events

09.11.2017
Kristal Klaar
GC De Markten - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi

Lollo Meier & Rares Morarescu Quintet

Lollo Meier © Marco Alessandro Bocchino Lollo Meier at Djangofolllies © Serge Braem © Rares Morarescu © Carlo Butera
INFO & TICKETS:
19/01/2018 à 12:30 - Bruxelles - Flagey
22/01/2018 à 20:15 - Ruiselede - Banana Peel
26/01/2018 à 20:00 - Liberchies - L'Eglise
27/01/2018 à 20:00 - Meise - GC de Muze van Meise

Lollo Meier & Rares Morarescu Quintet
(NL/RO/IT)
Lollo Meier (guitar), Rares Morarescu (violin), Carlo Butera (rhythm guitar), Henry Schuler (double bass) & Bart Keltjens (drums)
Lollo Meier , le légendaire guitariste manouche rencontre Rares Morarescu, violoniste d’origine roumaine, lors d’une tournée dans le sud de l’Italie. Grâce à leur style traditionnel et unique, ils donnent vie à un jazz manouche entraînant et surprenant. A travers un vaste répertoire passant par les mélodies manouches les plus populaires, ces talentueux musiciens nous font savourer les plus belles compositions de la période "impressionniste" de Django Reinhardt (Porto Cabello, Noir et Blanc, Nymphéas, ...).
Lollo Meier et Rares Morarescu explorent le jazz avec un goût prononcé pour le phrasé swing et l'improvisation virtuose. Leur musique est un voyage à travers la "Belle Epoque", lorsque Django Reinhardt et Stéphane Grappelli émerveillaient les foules, accompagnés par le Hot Club de France. Le lyrisme et le swing de Lollo Meier & Rares Morarescu offrent un moment musical absolument mémorable et d’une qualité indiscutable.

Lollo Meier est le meneur du groupe, guitariste, compositeur et arrangeur. Issu d’une famille de virtuoses de la musique manouche et cousin des célèbres Fapy Lafertin et Stochelo Rosenberg il a grandi baigné dans le Gypsy Swing depuis son plus jeune âge. Son objectif : perpétuer la musique de Django avec un style traditionnel, lyrique, sensible et joyeux. Lollo Meier interprète aussi ses propres compositions avec la fraicheur et l’étonnante agilité qui caractérisent la musique qu'il aime. Son Quartet, apprécié du public pour jouer ses propres compositions ainsi que les airs parfois moins connus de Django, est demandé par les festivals jazz du monde entier. Le style, l’élégance et l’humour de Lollo Meier, agrémentent son jeu mélodieux qui séduit le public et le ramène à la musique de Django, aussi vibrante qu’elle l’était 80 ans auparavant. En dehors de sa carrière scénique, Lollo Meier enseigne aux nouvelles générations les secrets de son art. En tant que compositeur, il atteint en 2005 la finale de l’International Songwriting Competition de Nashville (Etats-Unis) avec sa composition Mélodie pour le QuecumBar.

Rares Morarescu est un violoniste d’origine roumaine considéré comme l’un des plus extraordinaires et surprenants violonistes contemporains de jazz. Il commence à jouer le violon à l’âge de 5 ans et s’illustre dès l’âge de 14 ans sur de nombreuses scènes. En parallèle, il se produit avec l’orchestre de la Radio télévision Roumaine en tant que violoniste titulaire et participe à plusieurs productions de l’orchestre de l’opéra de Bucarest et du big band Rapsodia. De par son attachement sincère et dévoué à la tradition manouche et au swing de la Belle Époque, il est considéré comme l’un des plus fidèles disciples du grand maître Stéphane Grappelli. Il est régulièrement invité à collaborer avec des musiciens de renommée internationale.

Carlo Butera originaire de Sicile se dévoue, dès l’âge de 12 ans, à l’étude de la guitare et par la suite à l’étude de l’harmonie et des techniques du jazz. Vers 2000, il se forme en jazz manouche lors de plusieurs voyages en France (Samois-sur-Seine) et en tire les enseignements des grands maîtres. Plus tard, il formera le Hot String Quartet, le quartet se produira en Sicile dans un festival local de jazz. Carlo Butera collaborera durant une longue période avec le violoniste Rares Morarescu, ensemble ils fonderont un rassemblement manouche méditerranéen. Au fils des ans, ses multiples voyages à Paris, Bordeaux et aux Pays-Bas lui permettront d’assimiler en profondeur la philosophie et la technique du jazz manouche. il se produira avec des musiciens locaux issus des clubs de jazz en prenant part à de nombreux « Bœufs ». Carlo Butera a joué et collaboré avec les musiciens les plus en vogue du panorama musical sicilien, national et international.

Henry Schuler est un multi-instrumentiste hors-pair. A l’âge de 7 ans, il commence l’apprentissage de la trompette. Il apprend ensuite le piano et la guitare. A l’âge de 16 ans, il commence la guitare basse et la contrebasse qu’il étudie au Conservatoire de Maastricht. Son intérêt musical s’étend alors à de nombreux styles différents. Il joue du swing avec Al Defino; du bebop jazz avec John Engels; du blues avec Lynwood Slim et interprète même de la musique mexicaine avec Carolina de Holanda.

Bart Keltjens est fasciné par le jazz depuis son enfance, c’est justement cette musique qui lui a permis de connaître Lollo Meier. Il découvre un style très diffèrent de ce dont il jouait habituellement mais qui rejoint exactement ce qu’il recherchait jusqu’alors.

Newsletter

Entrez votre adresse mail:
 

Next events

09.11.2017
Kristal Klaar
La Tentation - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi