Maurizio Geri Swingtet

© Maurizio Geri © Maurizio Geri Swingtet © Maurizio Geri Swingtet
INFO & TICKETS:
25/01/2018 at 20:30 - Brussels - La Tentation
26/01/2018 at 20:15 - Leopoldsburg - CC Leopoldsburg
27/01/2018 at 20:00 - Ghent - De Centrale
28/01/2018 at 20:00 - Antwerp - De Roma

Maurizio Geri Swingtet
(IT)
Maurizio Geri: guitar, vocals, Luca Giovacchini: guitar, Michele Marini: clarinet Giacomo Tosti: accordion, Nicola Vernuccio: double bass.
The show is stylistically inspired by the Alsatian gypsy tradition, by the original founder Django Reinhardt, and all the other contaminations that have up to now made gypsy jazz vital and “modern”. The musical content places the concert in a current dimension, while the instrumentation (acoustic) communicates a nostalgic and evergreen retro feeling.

On this path, between the European gypsy tradition, American swing and Italian popular songwriting, a new and original alchemy is born, a sound that winks to the Mediterranean, between the historic and innovative, the stylistic research and new creation, all aspects that place the swingtet as The Band in Italy for the genre, for its longevity, curriculum and discography, the only formation to date to have participated in the most prestigious French festival dedicated to Django: “Samois sur Seine”.

The “Swingtet” is for Maurizio Geri the culmination of a work that began many years ago and with the project in question, enters in the heart of a new development. Orienting his instrumental and musical research towards the great Django Reinhardt, Maurizio did so the “right way”: by studying gypsy jazz with the “manouche”, playing with them, living in close contact with them, learning directly from them, without giving up himself and his own roots. He practiced Django’s lesson not only and not as much on the instrument, but mostly in the space between originality and adherence to tradition that made Reinhardt the undisputed model for many generations of European not formally trained musicians.

The music of the Swingtet are testimony, along with Maurizio’s interviews, of the free and passionate, rigorous and at the same time open approach that has characterized the band, particularly the emphasis on Django’s contribution to the articulate context of jazz, dance music and improvisation, a totally European context, but careful to the tradition of the italian song, along with the popular Tuscan and Mediterranean music that was his first love and his formative “gym”, as a instrumentalist and author. (L.Pallini)  

Brosella Newsletter

Enter your email to subscribe:
 

Next events

13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Brussels
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
14.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Brussels
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi

Maurizio Geri Swingtet

© Maurizio Geri © Maurizio Geri Swingtet © Maurizio Geri Swingtet
INFO & TICKETS:
25/01/2018 à 20:30 - Bruxelles - La Tentation
26/01/2018 à 20:15 - Leopoldsburg - CC Leopoldsburg
27/01/2018 à 20:00 - Gand - De Centrale
28/01/2018 à 20:00 - Anvers - De Roma

Maurizio Geri Swingtet
(IT)
Maurizio Geri: guitar, vocals, Luca Giovacchini: guitar, Michele Marini: clarinet Giacomo Tosti: accordion, Nicola Vernuccio: double bass.
Le groupe s’inspire de la tradition manouche d’Alsace, du grand musicien Django Reinhardt et de toutes les autres influences qui ont rendu le jazz manouche aussi vif et moderne qu’il est aujourd’hui. Le répertoire musical donne au concert une dimension moderne, tandis que l'instrumentation communique au public un certain sentiment de nostalgie.

Entre la tradition manouche européenne, le swing américain et les chansons populaires italiennes, une alchimie originale et nouvelle semble être née. Les sonorités du groupe sont un clin d’œil à la méditerranée. Les musiciens voguent entre le passé et l’innovation, la recherche stylistique et la création ; tous des aspects qui font du Swingtet la référence du Italienne du genre. S’ajoute à cela la longévité de la formation, son curriculum impréssionant et sa discographie. Le Swingtet est une des rares formations italiennes à avoir participé au plus prestigieux festival français dédié à Django: Samois sur Seine.

Le Swingtet est pour Maurizio Geri le point culminant d’un travail commencé il y’a plusieurs années en amont d’un projet mûrement réfléchi. En orientant sa recherche instrumentale vers Django Reinhardt, Maurizio s’est astreint à suivre la meilleure méthode : l’étude du jazz aux côtés des manouches, en jouant avec eux, en partageant leur vie, en tirant leurs enseignements, … Le tout sans renoncer pour autant à ses propres racines. Sa formation ne s’est pas limitée à l’apprentissage de la technique instrumentale de Django. En effet, Maurizio s’est aussi profondément inspiré du rapport entre originalité et tradition qui a fait du grand maître Reinhardt un indiscutable modèle pour de nombreuses générations de musiciens européens.

La musique du Swingtet est le témoignage d’une recherche libre et passionnée, rigoureuse et ouverte qui caractérise le groupe, avec un accent évident sur la contribution de Django au jazz, à la musique dansante et à l’improvisation tout en restant attentif à la tradition des chansons italiennes qui a été son premier amour et sa première approche musicale en tant que musicien et compositeur. (L.Pallini)  

Newsletter

Entrez votre adresse mail:
 

Next events

09.11.2017
Kristal Klaar
La Tentation - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Jazzy Strings
Les Riches-Claires - 1000 Bruxelles
13.01.2018
Djangofolllies
Samson Schmitt Trio
Le Bouillon Blanc - Sensenruth
 

Your band at Brosella?

Apply with your band for the next edition of Brosella Folk & Jazz Festival!
More Info
 
vzw "De Vrienden Van Brosella"
Onder de Hoge Bescherming van Z.M. de Koning
"Les Amis De Brosella" asbl
Sous le Haut Patronage de S.M. le Roi